T Nation

Supplement for Knee Pain?

A little BG. I’ve played baseball for the past 16 years. Of those 16 years, I have been a catcher for 13. Lots of up and down, twisting and turning which I think caused the majority of the problem. I still play in a local league, but I’ve decided to concentrate on outfield. This isn’t pro ball or anything like that. I guess you’d say its a select league.

Anyways, my right knee has always given me problems. I’m new to Biotest products so my question is…Is there any recommendations for supplements that would help my knee?

I mainly have pain when I’m doing moderate to heavy squats. It doesn’t look inflamed. It doesn’t pop or feel like its grinding.

Also, I work out early in the morning. I was thinking that it could be a possibility that I’m not warming up properly before starting. I do five mins on an elliptical, then roughly 25 box jumps on 24 inch tall box.

Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.

As a person with knee pain also in both knees (patelar tendonitis) I have found what works for me is the neoprene knee sleve that is about a size too small. This keeps my knees warm and I don’t need that much warmup when doing heavy squats.

Also, ever since I started powerlifting and taking a tad bit wider stance on my squats, I don’t feel it all in my knees; my hips, hamstrings and quads take the punishment and my knees are safe to live another day.

Lastly, I also take TriFlex when has Glucsamine, chondrootin and MSM.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but as a catcher, when you squat are you on your toes? If you are use to squatting with the weight being on your toes, your knees will pay the price. Need to learn to sit back when you squat so the weight is shifted from your knees to your glutes, hamstrings and quads. Your knees will thank you in the end.

[quote]SergeantQ wrote: