T Nation

Superset Combos?

I am pretty new to lifting. I have lifted before but after an injury I havent lifted in over a year. A good friend of mine told me to try doing supersets and working opposite muscles. Other then doing Bench and Rows, what other combos are good to do? And any other insite into super sets would be great.
Thanks

Im no expert, but I was taught that Supersets were two or sometimes three excercizes back-to-back on concentrated maneuvers.

For example, my coach would have me do 8 reps of a weight on the bench press and immediatley move to the curl rack and do some standing bicep curls, and then right away to the preacher curl bench and do a set there. Then I get to rest for 30 seconds or however long.

He said the theory was I started with the bench that worked alot, then moved to the arms which worked less, then the preacher curls which worked even less (due to isolation).

In this post I too am asking if this is at all correct. I dont want to live the lie anymore if it isnt.

[quote]BluePfaltz wrote:
Im no expert, but I was taught that Supersets were two or sometimes three excercizes back-to-back on concentrated maneuvers.[/quote]

This is similar to how I do supersets. I think your coach may be ignorant or mixing his theorys though. If he is looking to progressively isolate the movement he would want to stick with the same muscles. Curls aren’t an “arms” lift theyre a biceps lift. Your “bench muscles” are you delts, tris, and pecs. I would do something similar but more of a bench, dip, pushup drop set. Then again this is more of a drop set then a superset in common use of the word.

Actually supersets are two exercises back to back for the same muscle group i.e. bench press followed immediately by dumbell flys (which is a pretty decent combo) then you take your break. The one with doing bicep curls and then preacher curls would be a superset for biceps.