Super-Frequent Meals Better?

To keep metabolism up and hunger down, I’ve been reading that we should eat 5-6 smaller meals a day vs. 2-3 bigger meals. So does eating 10-12 even smaller meals every hour make sense? Why or why not?

I’m no expert, but I would say not. I don’t necessarily think it would hurt, but you need to give your body a chance to digest at least. If you are trying to gain mass, a small meal may not cause a large enough insulin response.

If you’re trying to diet, what happens when you are used to eating every hour and then have to take half a day off for something? You’ll feel starved and probably binge when you finally find time to eat.

Eating about every 3 hours seems to be fairly optimal. To sum up some of Dave Barr’s research (presented at the Test-Fest):

When you ingest protein, your body has a spike in protein synthesis (in layman’s terms: eating protein = muscle growth). The spike lasts about three hours before you hit baseline again. However, ingesting additional protein during the synthesis period will not prolong the spike. So eating every 1.5 hours will not have any benefit.

Besides, do you really want to have to eat every ninety minutes?

–unrelated:
So, (Candy) Barr, when is the Anabolic Index coming out?

I’ll throw some thoughts at you guys if you’ll let me. Keep in mind I don’tactually eat 10-12 times a day. I’m simply curious how 5-8 meals became optimal vs. 10-16 or 20-32.

-The more frequently you eat, the more your metabolism gets fired up.
-Since eating 5-6 meals instead of 2-3 meals keeps you fuller all day, 10-12 meals should keep you even more satisfied.
-Your body absorbs nutrients and stuff better in smaller doses.

Man…20-32 super mini-meals a day would be ABSURD.

Edit: Changed will to should

[quote]daven wrote:
[/quote]

Who wouldn’t?

[quote]daven wrote:
Eating about every 3 hours seems to be fairly optimal. To sum up some of Dave Barr’s research (presented at the Test-Fest):