Sumo Advice Please

OK hello friends…

You may remember me from such threads as squat depth worrying and DL form advice …
But now something new…

I am freaking out about my sumo form

Here is my “max” sumo @250.

Now sumo feels very easy to me, but I could be doing it fairly wrong because I am new to it.
I find that because I have super short legs and long monkey arms that I pull best with my hips set a bit higher, but I am wondering if there’s anything else major that needs adjusting ?

Thanks for any help and feedback

You’re fusing conventional and sumo, which is a normal error for those that are bridging from conventional to sumo.

You need to be lower with a more vertical torso if you want to reap the benefit of the sumo. You’re basically pulling conventional with a sumo foot stance.

Open your feet up, shove knees out, squeeze down into position, while working your torso up vertical.

It’s not going to be comfortable for awhile since you’re used to a horizontal back angle / conventional.

Hello again; always a way with words! I’ll second IronO; stuck between the two. I’ve done the same thing. I mentioned Ed Coan vids before; good cues for all pulling. Dan Green is another favorite; yes, both elite level lifters, but it’s the descriptions and just watching the set up/ execution of the lifts that really helped me. Especially with Dan G., shot from the side and slightly in back, gives a great look at where his feet, knees, hips are set…lower back angle ect.
Not saying I look/lift the same way, but it’s the example of his setup/execution that really clicked for me as something to try. And he’s just an overall Beast to watch; Never a bad angle of D.G.:slight_smile:

Great shirt, great shoes, just great work as always; you look awesome.
ERIC D.

ok thanks for the advice guys!!

And I agree about Dan green. Watching him lift is part of my pre workout ritual every damn day, Lol. Guys my hero, for real.

Super excited to try widening my stance.