Suggestions Please - 150 By Summer!

hey guys, i’m new to the forums. i’ve gained around 30 pounds since i started to bulk in late december. i’m currently 145lbs right now and my goal was 150 by summer.

my question is should i focus on benching/deadlifting/squatting during the summer to increase my growth? please give me some suggestions!

i’ve been using CW’s total body training and have seen good results. i am up 30lbs since i started lifting about 7 months ago, and i gained just under 10lbs during my 7 weeks using TBT.

i did a bench variation all three workouts, rotating inc and flat with dumbbells and barbell, and squats twice a week, rotating between wide squats and olympic squats and deadlifted once a week on the 5 rep day.

i gained the initial 20lbs quickly after i started lifting, but seemed to be stuck. with no change in diet, i easily added about 10lbs using this routine and i attribute it to the high frequency of the big three lifts.

[quote]jamez wrote:
hey guys, i’m new to the forums. i’ve gained around 30 pounds since i started to bulk in late december. i’m currently 145lbs right now and my goal was 150 by summer.

my question is should i focus on benching/deadlifting/squatting during the summer to increase my growth? please give me some suggestions![/quote]

Holy shit!.. yes.

I’m stunned. I was just thinking not ANOTHER one then you mentioned squats, deads and bench. Those should be your #1 lifts. Also, eat tons of food. Use the search feature for things like “bulking” “beginner” and “newbie”. You’ll find tons of info.

[quote]jamez wrote:

my question is should i focus on benching/deadlifting/squatting during the summer to increase my growth? please give me some suggestions![/quote]

You hit the nail on the head. Stick to the big basic exercises and you’ll make good gains

Don’t forget about rowing and/or chin-ups. Your lats can grow too! I’ve always thought that chin-ups should be included in the “Big Lifts”.