Suggestions for Learning Materials

Hello, I would like to study and learn more about fitness and nutrition. I could take an online course and spend $$$, but, Im not looking to become a certified personal trainer, I’d just like the knowledge of one.

So, my question is, is there any books that can be recommended that I could/should read? I have a lot of downtime at work and could use some reading material.

I recommend lifting weights over time and meeting goals to attain the knowledge of a trainer, if formal education/certification is not something you want to pursue.

As for downtime at work, I have a few kettlebells I keep at work. Bands and bodyweight are other good options that are always available.

1 Like

Purposeful Primitive

Powerlifting Basics Texas Style

Super Squats

The Complete Keys to Progress

Never Let Go

5/3/1 Forever

4 Likes

Probably Practical Programming Strength Training 3rd Edition for a complete beginner.

Thank you everyone for your suggestions. I will male a note of everything and make a solid effort to read through all the books.

Where are you in your training journey?

Pre pandemic i was hitting the gym everyday, cardio one day, weights another, my diet was on point, and i dropped 40lbs. I enjoyed going to the gym so i went every day. I learned a lot about the effects that food has on the body. My knowledge for weights and use of gym equipment is basic.
We go into lockdown, everything went to shit, I gained 60 lbs, and I struggle finding the energy to even get off my couch.

I am a cook, and in my downtime at work i wanted to learn more about nutrition, and wanted to gain more knowledge to be comfortable with various workouts.

I have a gym membership, and my gym recently was allowed to reopen again, so i made a meal plan for the week, and I’m starting again on Monday.

3 Likes