Suggestion for a Template for a 35 Year Old Dad of 3 Kids?

Hey there! I’ve been training consistently for over 15 years by now (with a fair bit of cycles of 5/3/1 in there, I own the first 5/3/1, 5/3/1 Beyond and 5/3/1 Forever so I can always look up stuff if needed) and with the lack of sleep from the kids and all, I’ve slowly come to terms that I might not be able to push everything as hard as I used to.

So, I’m looking for the best fit of a template for a dude in his 30’s that still wants to be strong but also healthy, meaning a good dose of conditioning and some mobility on the side. I wouldn’t cry myself to sleep either if I could add on some muscle mass :rofl:

You also have the little problem of time. I train in the morning before work, where I ride my bike 12km to the gym (about 7,5 miles for you US people) so I get up at about 5 and start work at 7. I can also fit in one training session during the weekends giving me a total of 6 possible days to train.

Any suggestions on a template for a guy like me?

How long do you have to train on weekdays? Do you have any other time in the day you can fit small sessions into?

I can get up at 5 and bike to the gym in about 20 min so say from 5.30 until 6.50. If its something small I can probably fit it in during the evening since I have a pretty substantial homegym with barbell, squat rack etc.

1 Like

Over an hour a day, for 6 days a week? Plus options for extra mobility/conditioning sessions if needed? Can’t think of any templates you couldn’t run to be honest. Pick one that excites you.

2 Likes

If I was short on time, I’d do something like widowmaker circuits.

2 Likes

That looks like a cool template. Definitely on my “to do” list.

2 Likes

@Londall

Dagill has a point. If you can make it 6 days, you can run whatever.

If you are tired and beat down all the time. Pick a simple template like 5’s pro FSL or 5’s pro SST with smart assistance.

Also, 2x2x2 is great!

1 Like