Sudden Change in Soreness Onset

Hi everyone

I’ve been working out for a few years now and since last week (after 2 months of insane psychological stress and anxiety), the way my body handles soreness changed. I used to get doms the day after my workout when I skipped for a week or tried a new exercise. But I usually wouldn’t get doms at all because of habituation.

As of last week I get doms just hours after working out and it lasts up to 3 days! I eat and sleep enough and since I’ve been routinely training I shouldn’t feel much doms at all. Could the stress period have something to do with this? What should I do? I’m a little worried.

I might be talking out my ass. My guess would be that the two month period probably caused you to fall off the cliff. How is your energy level and performance in the gym? Have you seen a increase in say getting colds or notice inflammation in your joints?

Did you do anything relatively new recently. Not like the first time ever but something you haven’t done for at least a few weeks. Like new movements rep ranges etc.

No, not really. That’s why I’m concerned

I’m worried about this too. I’ve had stress and anxiety issues for years but managed to recover. Those last two months really fucked me up again.

My energy level and performance is still the same! However I’ve noticed that my joints and tendonds were a little inflamed after working out. Just general soreness in tendons which I usually don’t have either.

My guess is the same as yours. What am I supposed to do now?

How long has it been since you have taken a break from the gym? Also have you changed anything program wise?

I haven’t changed the program and I worked out regularly 3x per week (the past 3 weeks when it started to change)

I’ve honestly been struggling and feeling like shit for years… And I’ve struggled with lots of stress due to relationships as well. However it didn’t affect my ability to recover back then.

3 times a week? What type of a approach?