Sub Q Injection Site Pain

New guy here, I know I must have done something wrong…

I just did my first injection of Test Cyp. .5ml. on Saturday. I used a 25g 5/8 needle and pinched the skin (I am pretty lean) in my abdomen for the injection. About 24 hours later I had a lot of pain just below the injection site. It is still sore now(36 hours later) and feels like a deep bruise. There is no visible bruising or even reddening of the injection area though? Any ideas on what caused this? I did keep the skin pinched during the whole injection, could that be why? I did do a lot of physical activity in the 24 hours after the injection (long bike ride, landscaping, lifting and carrying bags of rock) so maybe I put too much pressure on the area?
I am now dreading my next injection on Wednesday so any help would be appreciated.

I’m not sure what you did wrong. I’ve been injecting sq for 7 months without a single issue. I don’t use the abdomen. Something about that area makes me uneasy. I use the area around my hips. Everywhere from the tops of my thighs to the sides of my butt cheeks. I also use a thinner needle. Also be sure you inject slowly. Try a different location and let us know.

Just watch to see if it gets red/puffy. The first couple times it hurts more for new guys. Some compounding pharmacies load up on the alcohol. Its going to sting a bit, but you don’t want an infection.

I prefer injecting in my delts. Sometimes I literally feel nothing. Just go straight in/don’t worry about pinching anything to attempt to make it sub q.

I use a 29g half inch. It hurts a lot less but takes a while to draw. That said you are lean and would likely be fine with a 29g 3/8. Some guys love themselves a 27g but a 25g is simply fat in my humble opinion