Stupid question about 5/3/1

In wendlers recent article he had option #2:

5/3/1 for the main lift
5x10 assistance
5x10 assistance
curls or abs (depending on the day)

plus three days of conditioning

I’m completely new to 5/3/1 so bear with me…
when he prescribes 5/3/1 say for squats, does this mean warmup then do one set of five, one set of three, then a single? or am I getting it wrong? thanks guys

Yes, you are getting it wrong. The book’s $20 and pretty much explains everything.

http://www.flexcart.com/members/elitefts/default.asp?m=PD&pid=2976

Yes definitely get the book, its a longer term program (6+ months) and has a lot of room for modification so you don’t get bored or the urge to try something completely different. So the price is not bad at all when you compare any supplements/food or gym membership for the same period of time.

[quote]jjackkrash wrote:
Yes, you are getting it wrong. The book’s $20 and pretty much explains everything.

http://www.flexcart.com/members/elitefts/default.asp?m=PD&pid=2976[/quote]

Hahaha, brilliant. The $20 is well worth it. Only 15 euro dollars if you’re on my side of the pond.

Hey Handsome,
I’ve got a copy of Wendler’s 5/3/1 program if you want.
My friend who was a tubby tubby no hack gym newbie, went from 180 maxing on squat 8 months ago at 265, to ramping it up to 505 last week. The shit works. Own it.
Let me know

[quote]FeckinUGE wrote:
Hey Handsome,
My friend who was a tubby tubby no hack gym newbie, went from 180 maxing on squat 8 months ago at 265, to ramping it up to 505 last week. The shit works. Own it.
Let me know[/quote]

That is really impressive.

As far as the 5/3/1 program, there are a few articles on this site that will give you a basic idea of how the program works.

I thought so too. I was like “get the f*k out of here”