Stupid Newb Questions

So I just started training with a former world champion PL’er. I have been weight lifting religiously for about 5 years. I am 5’4" 157lbs and about 12% BF. I’m trying to bulk up to a solid 170 and cut to 165 for competition. I have been looking through the forums and there is a lot of good info but I had a few questions. I am only in my third serious week of training. I plan on lifting 100% RAW.

1. Should I benchmark my self to see where I am currently performing? I’ve had a natural Max bench of 315 for years but my new bench technique makes me feel like a bitch. No clue what I max dead lift or squat.

2. How often should I test my max? I respect the hell out of my trainer but he has expressed that this is not important right now.

3. At my weight where do I need to be in my lifts to truly be competitive? I look at a lot of meet results from around the country and I find that the 165lb class is not well represented which makes it hard to see what kind of numbers I need to get to in order to place in a competition. I know I shouldn’t care about this but I don’t do anything to lose. I am very competitive and I want to always be the best.

4. My trainer thinks by the end of the year based on what he see’s I will be benching around 325, squatting 500, and dead lifting 575-600 . Is this realistic? Squat and Dead lift seem huge to me while bench seems a little low.

Again I am new here and I’m sorry if any of these questions have been asked before.

If you are training with a former PL champion wouldn’t be better to ask him questions instead of us amateurs?

If you truly hit those numbers raw, at your weight, there won’t be too many people beating you. Especially on the local circuits. If he truly is a World Champion PL’er, than listen to him. Obviously he knows what to do. What’s his name?

[quote]MiniMike wrote:

1. Should I benchmark my self to see where I am currently performing?[/quote]