T Nation

Student Loans

I was wondering if anyone here has any advice on paying off student loans from undergrad and grad school. I'm a recent graduate with my doctorate degree and have a lot of debt. Any tips/suggestions would be great. Please don't say just make the payments every month.

Thanks!

Id say common sense...plan out necessary expenses and put away money when you can to put toward your debt.

I used a check.

Put yourself on a really tight budget, and put as much money towards it every month. Get a second job, have a garage sale, put stuff on ebay and craiglist, attack it with everything you got!

dave ramsey fan?

Sounds shitty but look into cutting your fixed costs, i.e. housing. Move in with a roommate, parents, family member if possible. If that's out of the question then the only thing I can think of is generating more income (2nd job, side business, etc), cutting expenses, and getting rid of any expensive items that might help you pay it down (the nice car, tv, bike, etc).

Oh, and make the monthly payments.

Ahh the noose of debt slavery. It's built into the system Live with it. As an American you have Started life in Debt and shall End it in Debt. But for that the have death insurance to cover the debt you WILL leave behind.

Ask for a refund if this problem perplexes you. You didn't get your money's worth of an education.

I'm not an accountant like yourself...never claimed to be...in the healthcare field. And never received a lot of finance/business education.

Yo man, I'm headed that way myself. best advice i've found with any debt still applies, and has been alluded to in earlier posts. I like the Get Rich Slowly website, as it has a lot of good, and accessible information (and i'm terrible with money...we all have to learn i guess). This article in particular i find to be very helpful and hope you feel the same way. good luck.

http://www.getrichslowly.org/blog/2006/11/16/how-to-get-out-of-debt-2/