Stuck Squatting At 375

I made really quick gains squatting from 315 to 375 using max effort/dynamic effort days. But its been 3 weeks and today I tried 385 with 2 guys spotting me on both sides and I was real deep and I was deep for probably 3-4 seconds and just couldnt get it up. I had my stomach out and my shoulders back with a nice wide stance.

My Max effort day looks like this:
25 at 135
5 at 185
15 at 225
3 at 275
13 at 315
3 at 335
13 at 335
1 at 365
11 at 365
1 at 375
1*1 at 385 (failed)

I am 190, 5’7 and fairly lean. I follow Berardi’s principles and I’m sure my nutrition isn’t where the problem is. I’m stuck but I know Max effort is the way to go. I was wondering any thoughts on a new Max effort formula or if i should just stick it out and keep going under the bar with this routine.

-Seth

I’m new to the whole squatting scene and have never dealt with this whole dynamic/max effort stuff…but it seems to me like you are doing an AWFUL lot of work before that max effort. I don’t see how you can produce max effort after doing all of those other reps. But like I said. I probably just don’t know.

I agree, definitly too many reps before your max attempt.

Why do two sets of one weight that you only get once? Cut back on that- instead of doing 315 2x1, why not just do one set?

You might just be too shot from all the sets in the middle.

I would recommend either switching up some exercises - Front Squats, Box Squats, Heavy Good Mornings, etc. OR switching up methods (My personal favorite is using my 3RM for 10-12 sets of singles - moves me up quickly in strength) for the next 3 weeks and then coming back to your Max Effort Back squats. Variation is very helpful.

Thanks for the Ideas. I have very little experience with box squats but i think its a good idea to cut out some of the stuff in the middle. There is no box for box squats at my gym so i think i’ll just use a flat bench and do it of it.

-Seth

Seth,