T Nation

Stuck. Not Reaching Potential

Ok so I have been lifting for about 4 years, and i have found myself in a rut. Ive been changing up the workouts, but it has been relatively the same type of training. 4 sets of an exercise.. go up in weight each time.. yada yada yada, you know how it works. I need to change this up and need suggestions and advice! my current workout split is chest/tris, Legs/Shoulders, Back/bis...i do this split 6 days straight resting once a week.

While i am looking to cut bodyf at, as i have abs, just have about 5lbs of fat covering it... i also want to see size gains! In particular My chest is my one struggling point. ADVICE!?!?

To see the most recent Piture of my progress just go to my profile and pictures. All help, advice, recommended programs appreciated

Is an Upper/Lower split better? What about Push pull? there are so much out there to try, I am not sure what my best bet is. Starting Monday I want to start fresh.. and any good solid foundations for a workout plan would help. thank you

Eat more

If you're not a troll, you haven't been paying attention to anything you've been doing if you look like that after 4 years of lifting. Do a basic program like 5/3/1 or starting strength, eat more food/protein, get stronger, come back in a few months.

Well, there were times i have taken off... most recent is from about 2 months back into lifting. also a college student and go out fri/sat night. dont know if two nights of drinking makes that much of a difference though

2 nights of drinking could be go out with friends and have 2 beers and enjoy the evening. Going out drinking can also mean going out and downing a 12 pack followed by a couple shots and being too hungover to do your workout the next day. It makes a difference in as much as you're not seeing the progress you want to or probably should be seeing.