Stuck in Skinny Fat?

After some advice folks. I’ve been spinning the wheels now for 3 years and have never really got anywhere.

I’m 38, 5’11, started off very heavy at 230lbs, in 6 months I cut down to 160lbs, I didn’t really know what I was doing on my cut and ended up skinny fat. I’ve floated around 160-170lbs since.

I’m around 20% bf. I fall somewhere between and ecto and an endo, I gain fat easily but for the life of me can’t gain muscle. I’ve a lot of loose skin on my stomach and pecs which makes things look worse but I’ve got arms like a snowman and sticks for legs. I’ve a complete lack of muscle mass.

I’ve tried cutting some more but the weight loss goes very slow now even when only eating 1500 cals, I can maintain at 1800-2100, if I go over that I gain weight, I know as I went on a short bulk for 2 months, going by my measurements the only thing that got bigger was my stomach which seems to be the main fat store.

I lift 6 days per week doing PPL, and do all the basic things like 1g per lb body weight. My lifts have been stalled for over a year now and I end up injuring myself trying to push myself so for the past 6 months I’ve been focusing on lighter weights with more reps and 4 second eccentrics which has kept me injury free and really allowed to dial in my form.

So where do I go from here?

Focus on getting stronger and having great workouts while eating around maintenance. I’ve done dumb cuts as well, I think most fat guys have. Eat as much as you can while keeping weight stable and over time you can “bump up” your maintenance and be ready for a not stupid cut.

2 Likes

Some photos.

How consistently are you hitting 2100kcals? What is that 2100kcal made up of?

And can you post your ppl program and how you determine to increase weight on that program?

2100 is right at my top end so I rarely hit it. If I’m honest it’s usually under 2000. I will hit 170g of protein and the rest is carbs and fat, I don’t really worry about them.