Stuck in a Plateau

Ok so I’ve been training for about 3 months now, generally using 5 sets of five, and have seen pretty good progress on all my lifts. However, for the past 2 weeks, I have been stuck on 140 for the bench press. Usually, I have been adding about 5 pounds a week. All my other lifts have been progressing. Is their anything I can do diferntly to continue to progress? Or should I just be patient.

Strength doesn’t always progress linearly e.g. week to week. It can come in spurts…growth spurts. So being patient is always a good idea tho in the meantime you should still endeavour to progressively overload in some form or another.

e.g. You could take off 20-25lbs off and hit sets of 6 or 7 and build back up. By the time you’re at 140 again you’ll be bigger and stronger.

Make sure you’re eating enough to grow.

Improve your form by watching vids on YouTube

When you start stalling out a lot then it’s probably time to change programs

Looking at that I’ll assume you are fairly light or tall for your weight. Would I be correct? If so gain some weight and strength will go up

Abs > Strength. Stay skinny. Set records in the 123s.

1 Like

Well I’m only about 5 ft 6 and last time I weighed myself I was about 122.
I assume I have gained weight since then because I’ve gotten stronger, have
gotten comments on how I’m “filling out” and have been eating roughly 3000
calories a day ( give or take a couple hundred depending on the day.

That’s a lot of calories. Be wary of bulking too fast. You can only put in so much muscle. If you your rate of weight gain is greater than this the excess will be fat which will have to be cut off later and in the mean time will be unfavourable for body composition/sexiness.

Is your weight on the scales trending upward over time? How fast e.g. 1 pound per week or more?

1 Like

Micro-load with some teeny weeny plates or ankle weights etc.

I have no Idea how much I weigh. I’m still fairly lean though and have