T Nation

Struggling with Squats and Deadlifts

Hi guys, I’m new to weight lifting, started doing stronglifts 5x5.
Ive been struggling with the squat and deadlift for a few months now, I can not seem to do either without hurting my lower back. I was told it may be a good idea to record a video and post the link online to get some advice and feedback on my form and technique.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Squat

Deadlift

You haven’t learned how to maintain a neutral spine and body tension yet.

Concerning both your Deadlift and your Squat: Stop looking at the ground. When you look at the ground, your body tends to want to bend foward, putting some pressure on your spine. Find a spot on the wall in front of you and look at it. That should be a decent start.

Watch the entire series of this:

And this:

Even this:

Ok buddy imma a bit on the tired side bit gonna try and help you out.
Your Deadlift actually looks pretty nice but the weight was so light we really wouldn’t see much break down but, all in all looked pretty solid.

As for your Squat no offense meant here but, it looks pretty terrible. First cue you really need to try and not chicken wing your arms so bad bring them down a bit. This will help let you stick your chest up which is gonna help you maintain a higher upright position with a stronger spine position. Next STOP STARRING AT THE GROUND. Find a spot about eye level or slightly above and don’t take your eyes off of it. Your leaning over very far even for a low bar squat when you actually add weight to the bar your either going to turn your squats into a Good Morning or worse actually dump the bar over head. Either way ot goes all the above until fixed are going to add quite a bit a additional stress to your lower back making it hurt.