T Nation

Struggle To Eat Enough

I’m 5"1 and 110lb (female).
I’ve been training for about 4 months and i’ve always had a pretty good diet, I follow nutrition guidelines I read on many bodybuilding websites.
The problem is that I have always struggled to eat “enough” and most days I only manage about 1200 calories. This is due to the fact that I get very full very easily.
I have started buying whey protein in order to add a couple hundred more calories and the protein that my low calorie diet doesn’t provide.

Anyway, will this make it harder for me to gain muscle definition (not so much trying to gain mass at the moment) and am i going to have to add more calories?
Or will suddenly adding more calories make me gain fat?

Edit: One more thing, when I don’t have money for the gym I spend some days doing weights at home. The problem is my weights are limited and the weights I can add are either too light or way too heavy. Is it bad for muscles/cause injury to have an unevan load on barbells? (eg 3kg one one side and 4kg on the other)

I do not fully understand you question but if you are trying to gain definition then your goal is to lose fat, right?

So what you need to do is go to Thibaudeau’s author page and look up nutrtion for newbies. Obviously if you are unable to such a level described that you start losing muscle i would suggest cutting back on the exercise so you energy debt isn’t so low.

If you have any other questions just PM me

• Phoenix Theory

if you want muscle definition then you first need to have muscle, then your low calorie diet will help becuase then you diet the fat off and now you have definition. i really cannot comment on women’s fitness though. i say if you are under 200 pounds then you are attractive.

if you cannot get to the gym then i think it is better to take a week off than perform a workout you are not committed to.