Strongman Training for Firefighting

I want to start doing some strongman training so I can ‘beef up’ for the fire department. I don’t have a whole lot of money, so I’m wanting to build as much as I can. Anybody out there have any tips? What have y’all built?

I don’t have any tips, but i would also be interested in this topic.

what do you want to build? i have bookmarked and or built many pieces myself.

you can make an axle from galvanized pipe and some rubber collars as the stoppers. the same pipe can be used to make farmers handles with some 8-12" nipples for handles.

call around to some john deere dealerships to get some tractor tires. sometimes they may ask to pay you to take it off their hands, lol. no joke. i got a 200, 300 and 400 tire, the guy drove 150 miles, and wanted to pay me.

get some pvc, 3-4" to start, fill it 1/3 to 1/2 with water and bam! slosh pipe.

I used to be a firefighter and have competed in powerlifting. Strengh is always important, but once you have enough - it has fast diminishing returns. Decent strength with a lot of strength endurance is more important.

As a firefighter I could raw bench press 440 lbs and squat high 600’s - and was first place (all time) for my department the record for our physical test- which was prolonged obstacle course - lifting, dragging running stairs, pushing, pulling stuff, etc in a timed event.

We had 5 minutes or 6 minutes to complete it to pass - and I did it in 2:15 seconds - with a 10 second penalty for missing a step.

We later did the test again but this time it was not based on time but the goal was to finish it as many times as possible on one tank of air, in full gear. I did it 1.5 times and ran out of air - and may have puked my guts out. I was strong and pretty fast but I had little endurance. I was trained for a sprint and for power.