Strongman Deadlifts vs Powerlifting Deadlifts

Ok… probably a complete noob question but whatever. Why do strongmen seem to have much higher capacity for deadlift as opposed to powerlifters? Let’s take out the higher picks. I understand straps and hitching, but it just seems like strongmen are far and away leading the pack on this.

Do you mean work capacity, reps at a certain weight or just heavier deadlifting in general?

Specifically higher weights, but all of the above really.

Work capacity and rep capacity I think would be better. Strongman training lends itself more to those attributes. Like asking why powerlifters seem to be better at 1RM back squatting to Powerlifting standards than strongmen.

1RM deadlifts I dunno if your assumption holds. Straps add a bit to most people’s deadlifts I guess but that goes for powerlifters who use straps too.

Maybe in the absolute or SHW categories at the top level of each sport the kinds of builds in Powerlifting like with a power belly as well as a large part of training being focused on squatting leads to less on average deadlifting than comparable SHW strongmen who are taller guys, can’t turn into fat slobs to lift more statically and don’t focus the squat as much

1 Like

You’re probably evaluating genetic predisposition and thinking it’s training related. Someone better at deadlifting due to size and lever length is probably pretty likely going to go into strongman sports these days.

1 Like