T Nation

Stronglifts 5x5 Questions

Hi, i have been doing stronglifts for just on two months now and my wieghts are starting to get up a bit so I have a couple of questions. I’m 185cm tall and 102kgs FYI.

1. Squats - I completed 5 x 5 of 120kgs this morning, i don’t feel like i’ve maxxed out yet however i’ve started to notice that after the last couple of sessions of around this weight my right knee - which i’ve had an arthroscopy on before - is starting to feel a bit sore. I presume this is because the weights are getting up as this hasnt happened until i got to these weights.

I’ve read that front squats are a good idea and better for tall people, should i swap to front squats on alternating days to see if this makes any difference to my knee pain and if so what weight should i use compared to my 120 kg squat? Or step back to 3x5 on the squats and keep adding weight?

1. Bench - I completed 5x5 @ 105 kgs today, but only just! I had to have a 30-60s break mid set to get out the last couple of reps in the last sets. Should i try again at 105 next time or just deload the recommended 10%?

2. OHP - Last session i completed the 5x5 with 62.5 kgs, which was brutal. Same question as no 2 try again next session with same weight or deload 10% and concentrate on form again?

3. Pushups - I’ve been mixing these up with variations and heres what i can do so far (egs are variations for each session), 3x15 with feet raised on ball, today - 1x15 with 10kg weight on shoulders and 2x10 with 10 kgs, and straight pushups (not done for a couple of weeks) 30, 25, 20. Do i keep going with the variations or try dips as i’ve read somewhere else?

Thats all the questions for now, thanks in advance for any help.

I’ve posted this over on the stronglifts forum but would like your input as well and think there are a few more members here than the stronglifts forum

Cheers

Tim

[quote]Timmeh wrote: