T Nation

Stronger Throughout Workout

This might be a little odd, but as I’m progressing with the Shugart HST program, I’ve noticed that as I make my way through the workout, I feel stronger later than in the beginning. So I rotated the order in which I do the exercises. Tonight for example, I benched last instead of first, and smashed my 5 rep PR easily… and I mean EASILY. Yet the past 2 workouts (Thursday and Saturday) of benching, I struggled to get that 5th rep of the 2nd set, even though it was a slightly lighter weight. I started playing with this about 2 weeks ago when all of a sudden instead of maxing out at my usual 10 or 11 pullups, I pumped out 13. That’s when I realized I strayed from the order of the written program. Every exercise (except squats) have had similar results. I have know idea why this is happening, but I do know it’s happening very abruptly. My sleep/diet/supplements have been the same for the past 9 months. Anybody have insight on why gains are suddenly appearing out of nowhere? I could see if it were a one night fluke, we all have our beast days, but the last 6 workouts have just felt easier than normal. Thanks for your time. Brian

Ask Thib in his forum --has written a lot about this sort of thing. Basically most likely your neurolgy is fired up/ optimised by this type of training.
Anyway good to hear this site is helping and you’re getting real results, keep it up!

1 Like

Yeah Badger is right. You might not be warming up enough and as such your neural system is not completely ready at the beginning of your workout