T Nation

Stronger Throughout Workout

This might be a little odd, but as I’m progressing with the Shugart HST program, I’ve noticed that as I make my way through the workout, I feel stronger later than in the beginning. So I rotated the order in which I do the exercises. Tonight for example, I benched last instead of first, and smashed my 5 rep PR easily… and I mean EASILY. Yet the past 2 workouts (Thursday and Saturday) of benching, I struggled to get that 5th rep of the 2nd set, even though it was a slightly lighter weight. I started playing with this about 2 weeks ago when all of a sudden instead of maxing out at my usual 10 or 11 pullups, I pumped out 13. That’s when I realized I strayed from the order of the written program. Every exercise (except squats) have had similar results. I have know idea why this is happening, but I do know it’s happening very abruptly. My sleep/diet/supplements have been the same for the past 9 months. Anybody have insight on why gains are suddenly appearing out of nowhere? I could see if it were a one night fluke, we all have our beast days, but the last 6 workouts have just felt easier than normal. Thanks for your time. Brian

Ask Thib in his forum --has written a lot about this sort of thing. Basically most likely your neurolgy is fired up/ optimised by this type of training.
Anyway good to hear this site is helping and you’re getting real results, keep it up!

Yeah Badger is right. You might not be warming up enough and as such your neural system is not completely ready at the beginning of your workout