T Nation

Stronger Than You are Fast at Benching

I read a couple of articles where someone said something simular to this statement a couple of times but never really paid attention to it and today I became curious as to what is meant by that. I just started powerlifting a few months ago with my wife using WBB method. Stronger than you are fast or faster then you are strong on the bench press...maybe im wording it wrong but that is close to it.

:smiley: i have never heard the saying (im a newb)

to me it may be

when benching for exampple the faster the movement the less strength/power is needed as the snap reflex(the bounce) gets the bar back back up a good bit of the way?

and alternatively

when doing it slower i.e 3-5 second negative u are putting much more strain on chest/tri’s to get that bar back up without the bounce take more power/strenght?

could be wrong often am :smiley:

edit i suppose same could be said for most movement squats etc

[quote]Andrew02 wrote:
I read a couple of articles where someone said something simular to this statement a couple of times but never really paid attention to it and today I became curious as to what is meant by that. I just started powerlifting a few months ago with my wife using WBB method. Stronger than you are fast or faster then you are strong on the bench press…maybe im wording it wrong but that is close to it.[/quote]
So you want us to offer input on a quote that you kinda-sorta remember, but might be wording it wrong, but it’s something that, but not quite? Um, okay.

It sounds something like what Michael might be saying, if you rely on speed instead of strength/power, you could get in trouble with a lift when you hit a sticking point that you’d otherwise be able to grind through. So something like paused benching (resting on the chest for a full two-count before pressing) might help in cases like that. I think. Kinda sorta.

I’m pretty sure it refers to why PL’ers do dynamic benching. To get faster.