Stride Problems

I go on occasional distance runs to keep my endurance up. However some days I have trouble going anywhere. I can see how it could be from overtraining or something along those lines.

But every bad run I notice that my legs aren’t coming in on straight angles, knees are turned out, and my feet are usually tilted to the outside.

My good runs always seem to have straight strides. So I was wondering if there’s a weak muscle group I should be hitting, or stretching more often (hip flexors?) because I can’t seem to figure it out.

thank you

I think you have weak gluteal muscles. Do you already incorporate squat or deadlift variations in your routine?

I am new to lifting – caveat – so I refrain from giving technical advice there. However, I was a pretty damn good runner and was known for having a smooth, efficient stride.

One thing I can tell you (aside from any specific imbalances you may need to address) is that long, slow running is much more tolerant of crappy form (at least in the short term) than fast running. You can point your toes out, lurch, shuffle, waddle, stomp, favor one leg, tilt your pelvis funny and still run along at a slow pace provided your aerobic conditioning is any good.

Going fast, however, demands that you be efficient in your movement – the faster you go, the more efficient you need to be.

Try finding a flat, not-too-jarring place (a football field or the rubberized track running around it) and doing some accelerations/decelerations. Start slow, accelerate smoothly up to maybe 90% of your sprint speed, then decelerate smoothly all the way to a stop.