T Nation

stretching

I would like to learn more about stretching. What books are good to read?

My goal is to be injury free, and also to loosen up my traps. I use computers a lot, and my trap and neck area is always stiff.

Check out some of Pavel Tsatsouline?s books on stretching. He has 2 or 3 out.

I would get either one of pavel's book (relax into stretch is the best, get all three if you can) and kurz bookz/videos.

Check out the Mattes Method or AIS - (Active Isolated Stretching)

Check out
The Lazy Man's Guide to Stretching

http://t-mag.com/html/89lazy.html

Enough there to get you started.

Ranski

I tried various stretching methods for my neck and upper traps to no avail. Being a student I spend a lot of time in front a computer and hovering over books.

Eventually I got some ART done on my neck and traps and it's the best thing I've ever done for them.

I had a question about stretching. Do you guys stretch before and after workouts? I read somewhere that stretching before working out is not needed. Just some type of warm up for the body part being worked and stretching afterwards. What's your guys and gals take?

Al

I have the above-mentioned Relax Into Stretch book by Pavel. It's good.

Stretch everything. Chronically tense neck and traps could be caused by tight hip flexors and pecs. Just stretching neck and traps won't necessarily fix the problem.

When a muscle is stubborn, go get ART. It is amazing.

I personally believe that stretching before a workout can be good for those who are prone to skipping it when placed at the end of a workout. Otherwise I'd recommend post-workout stretching or stretch on a different day.

I got ART before, and it doesn't help my traps. It helps my shoulder though, I'm not in pain anymore, but I haven't got back my full ROM.

My therapist told me that it's normal to be tight on the traps. I don't like that answer.

I'm kinda tight on money right now, but I'll look at Relax into Stretch. Thanks...