T Nation

Stretching: Dynamic, Static, etc...

I am new to T-Nation as a member but I have been reading the columns for a while now. I think I have some understanding on lifting but when it comes to STRETCHING I am so LOST! Some people talk about so many different types of stretching and people disagree and when do do which one that it is driving me crazy.

Even when I search for stuff about it it just makes things worst. I have considerable problems, I would say, when it comes to range of motion. I have a hard time deadlifiting from the floor and I know I could deadlift a lot more If I had a better form which is inhibited by flexibility. I cant come even close to touching my toes without bending at my knees. I did a physical evaluation at my university (which I think are very deficient but..) and when it came to stretching I didnt even figure in their charts I think they extrapolated the data and I was somewhere in the 4th or 5th percentile. As most of you can imagine this is really affecting my lifting.

When I do a regular squat I can barely grab the bar since the hand position really kills my shoulders...yes its that bad. That is why I prefer front squats.

That exercise, thats some people call the stick-up, where you lean your back against a wall and place your arms against the wall as well and reach for the sky and then bring them back down, I cant do it. Most of the time my arms can touch the wall.

So in light of my condition I need help. I was mainly searching for a program that has been already design that I could follow and also pass it to my parents that are in a lot worst condition then I am!I (one of the reasons that I decided to take stretching more seriously) have seen the mobility DVD that is advertised here but I am not sure how to put a program together for myself, that is why if someone knows of one already put together that I could start with that would be great.

I am not sure if there is a better place to post this, so I will try here.