T Nation

Stressed Out!

hey all, long story short i have been signed off work for 2 weeks with "stress". It aint totally a bad thing but im having trouble chilling out.
Basically im a prison officer, can be very stressful and the unit i am on is.While at work over the weekend my face comes out in red blotches, i went home hoping it would go but called in sick the next day and the doctor asked me a few questions about when it happened/why etc ,i went on a bit of a rant and he says im stressed out. He gave me some creams (i have eczema anyway)and some sleeping tablets and said to relax and it would go.

Now im usually a chilled guy who uses training to get rid of some stress, now i cant train until the eczema goes down as sweat irritates it. Im really struggling to stay calm. I feel my face bubbling when i get annoyed. im looking for others ways to chill and hoping some of you guys could help. I have already decided that i want to get back to training on Monday (4 days away) and even looking at things like yoga but i need things i can carry on (time permitting) when i go back to work.

Any ideas? what do you lot do when your raging and need to chill?

cant do that at work mate, would be difficult while driving or commuting

but whatever works for you, crack on

i have two friends who are prison officers, and they seem to spend as much time as possible chilling with their families and doing unrelated hobbies - medieval reenactment

The only reason you are being stressed from the unit you are on is because you are playing that stress in your mind. You think it's stressful, giving you all the signs and symptoms of stress. Creams will only deal with the symptoms not what is actually causing it.