T Nation

Strengthen the Hamstrings

Hi All

I have a quick question. I have been playing sport for the last 15 years and in the last 5 or 6 i am constantly having Hamstring trouble. I am in great shape and then all of a sudden i twinge the hammer. Generally a week or 2 before a game. Last night I did the same. Has anyone got any advice on how to strengthen them up? I am a fairly strong person and fast but not nuch good if the hammer keeps acting up.

Thanks in advance

How often do you stretch?

I never had a pulled hamstring until last sunday and coincidentally the last month I have been skipping my stretch after each workout.

Are your glutes working properly?

PM on the way.

Just posted today:

http://www.elitefts.com/documents/preventing_hamstring_injuries.htm

GHR!!! Along with figuring out what activation issues you may/may not have.

[quote]AlexM wrote:
GHR!!! Along with figuring out what activation issues you may/may not have. [/quote]

Lol there’s loooooads of good GHR’s in Ireland :stuck_out_tongue:

Strengthening your hamstring further will probably only exacerbate the problem. As mentioned above, you should probably focus on strengthening your glutes.

Let me guess, you have been doing lots of hamstring strengthening recently? I never had a hamstring strain in my life ( age 14-18 ) untill I started doing leg curls and glute ham raises about a year ago.

I went from being a good sprinter to quitting track right now due ( age 19) to approx 10 ham strains. If I were you I would avoid all knee flexion exercises at all costs! and strengthen your hamstrings WHEN THEY ARE FULLY HEALED with hip extension exercises.

Sumo Romanian Deadlifts, 5x5 style.

I’ve had success with RDL, heavy deadlift floor pulls to past knees, back extensions, GHR, and 1-leg good morning

[quote]2274 wrote:
Sumo Romanian Deadlifts, 5x5 style.[/quote]

can you please explain what these are and how they are performed?

[quote]actionjeff wrote:
… and 1-leg good morning

2274 wrote: