Strength vs Hypertrophy As We Age

Dr. Darden,

What is your opinion on strength vs hypertrophy as we approach or are already in our senior years?

I have been using 30-10-30 programs with no failure and I enjoy the methods very much, but I have noticed strength decreases because I am more focused on the muscle event instead of chasing failure or poundage

The strength decreases are only because reduction of weight and sticking with the same weight thru out the cycle

therefore, the reason for the question of how important strength becomes as we age into our later years

Thanks, dan

I believe you need both strength and hypertrophy. And there’s a relationship between them . . . perhaps not one to one, but close.

I find it interesting that you are finding strength decreases with 30 10 30? I had been doing 30 10 30 for 3 months or more and if anything I felt like I was getting stronger inspite of not chasing failure but I didn’t just use the same weight through out the entire period I was using it. As I felt like I was getting stronger and able to handle more I added weight. I found it took me a few weeks of doing 30 10 30 to get the hang of the right weight. I always milked the negative portion of the exercise to drain the muscle.
Scott

Sounds like that’s what I may need to is add a little more weight

Whether you are focusing on getting to failure with great form, or focusing on getting deep inroad without failure, that shouldn’t change the expectation that you should eventually (over the long term) be able to handle more weight if you are getting stronger and building more muscle.

A number of coaches have pointed out that training to maintain the status quo usually backfires. Even if you are past the point of actually being able to get stronger (due to age, training status, etc.), you will likely get better results if your mindset and focus is to try to do more.

2 Likes