Strength Training with Laborious Job

Hi, I graduated a year early only to find myself with a laborious job at a Sawmill. I am waiting to get into the RCMP. I need to keep the job, so how do I work my training around it? I don’t know how I can train without overtraining or being extremely sore and miserable during the work week? Any advice?

Your recovery is obviously going to be affected by your strenuous job, so I would cut your training back to 3 days a week, focusing on the big lifts and cutting out isolation work for the time being since you need to be thrifty with your ability to recover. Something like Starr’s 5x5 would be an excellent choice. You are going to need to eat A LOT of food just to keep yourself in a positive energy balance (calories in > calories out). Get as much sleep as you can every night (think 10 hours if you can) and maybe get some ZMA to help you sleep. Load up on the BCAA’s around your workouts and make sure to put down a lot of carbs post workout. Hope this helps.

If possible, lifting in the morning before work would be something you could try. You could also try scheduling two of your sessions on the weekend.

You could also try doing lighter variations of your main barbell movements, for example power cleans instead of deadlifts or overhead presses instead of bench.

Or hell you could simply lift only once a week on the weekend when you’re fresh and focus on whatever lift you need to improve the most. It would suck to leave other stuff behind, but it’d only be temporary anyway.

I never really trained while doing laborious jobs, so I haven’t tried these ideas. They just came off the top of my head. At any rate, good luck.

Autodiadect gave you some solid advice.