Strength Training For Me...

Hi i have been trying to find out about strength training and thought i would ask here as people really know their stuff.
I have a few questions. Heres a bit of info about me,
I am trying to improve my strength for Kickboxing. Im 6’2 and about 178 pounsds. Im pretty skinny and trying to put of weight and get stronger. Im looking to get my strength up and then start bodybuilding later on. I have been trainnig with weights for a little while (few months) so im not a total newb.

1 - How Many Set/Reps/types of exercises.

2 - How many times a week to strength train.

3 - How should the diet plan look (different than bodybuilding?).

p.s. and example program would help me to figure out my own as I have my own bench and stuff at home and may need to change things hear and there. Many thanks in advance.

[quote]Sh!fty wrote:
Hi i have been trying to find out about strength training and thought i would ask here as people really know their stuff.
I have a few questions. Heres a bit of info about me,
I am trying to improve my strength for Kickboxing. Im 6’2 and about 178 pounsds. Im pretty skinny and trying to put of weight and get stronger. Im looking to get my strength up and then start bodybuilding later on. I have been trainnig with weights for a little while (few months) so im not a total newb.

1 - How Many Set/Reps/types of exercises.

2 - How many times a week to strength train.

3 - How should the diet plan look (different than bodybuilding?).

p.s. and example program would help me to figure out my own as I have my own bench and stuff at home and may need to change things hear and there. Many thanks in advance.
[/quote]

What you want is power. Not strength. Power is simply the amount of force(strength) over time, which would be speed.