T Nation

Strength Training for Cutting

I have been using Wendlers 531 for 2 months and have been seeing fantastic results. Bench (275-315) Press (165-220) DL (350-385) Squat (355-405). However I have gained about 10 lbs (275-285) I'm 6'2" BTW. I would like to start to shed some extra body-fat while continuing to get stronger, maybe 1-2 lbs of fat a week.

Any advice on how to go about it or suggestions for training/diet programs would be much appreciated. I would absolutley love to get down to about 240-250 before 2016.

Stu recently said that lifting should always be done with the intent of building muscle. I agree. Whatever built the muscle will help you keep it while dieting off the fat. So, since you’re familiar with it, I suggest you stick to 531, pick a reasonable template (that means no boring but big), and add conditioning. The rest of the work will be done in the kitchen.

[quote]nighthawkz wrote:
Stu recently said that lifting should always be done with the intent of building muscle. I agree. Whatever built the muscle will help you keep it while dieting off the fat. So, since you’re familiar with it, I suggest you stick to 531, pick a reasonable template (that means no boring but big), and add conditioning. The rest of the work will be done in the kitchen.[/quote]

I’ve found when cutting that strength training should be kept to the minimum you can do to maintain/build strength and that your big gains will come in the kitchen.

[quote]dagill2 wrote:

[quote]nighthawkz wrote:
Stu recently said that lifting should always be done with the intent of building muscle. I agree. Whatever built the muscle will help you keep it while dieting off the fat. So, since you’re familiar with it, I suggest you stick to 531, pick a reasonable template (that means no boring but big), and add conditioning. The rest of the work will be done in the kitchen.[/quote]