T Nation

Strength Program; Opinions?

Okay i've been training since i was a freshman in high school, now im a junior almost a senior. I have put together a strength training program for myself; im am trying to increase my strength, power and size. I would like to hear your opinions on it.

Monday-
1. 4x[5-7]/ Bench [ 80-85% max] <**>
2. 3x5/ Incline Dumbbell Press <**>
3. 3x5/ Close Grip Bench <**>

Tuesday-
1. 4x3/ Cleans or Hang Cleans \ 5x1
2. 3x5/ Dumbbell Rows\ <**>
3. 4x5/ Pull Ups with weight <**>

Wendsday-
1. 3x3/ Military Press <**> [ Iso-Hold 20 sec. ]
2. 3x3/ Plyo Pushups [ Iso-Hold 10 sec. ]
3. [ 15-20 ]/Wrist Curls

Thursday-
1. 4x3/ Squats
2. Abs

Friday-
1. 1x1 or 1x2 or 1x3/ Bench
2. 3x3/ Incline Dumbbell Press <**>
3. 3x3/ Dips with weight <**>

Note: I ONLY HAVE ABOUT 40 MINUTES TO WORKOUT, and i have about 2 to 3 minutes rest between sets to ensure my muscles are a peak strength.

Is pressing 3x a week REALLY something you want to pursue?

Yes, I really have a bad bench press compared to my other lifts so i built my workout mostly around the bench… wednesday is a deload for recovery

Well, are you training for a sport? Bench press isn’t everything. You have three days devoted to bench pressing movements, but only one day of squats and deadlifts. Squats and deads are the lifts which put muscle on your frame. You should be squatting and dead lifting more than once a week (cleans do not count…). I would replace one of your press movements with either military press, push press, or jerk. Also, there is a complete lack of pulling movements–seated rows, pullups(lat pulls), bent over rows, etc.