Strength Program for MMA

I’m an aspiring strength coach. One of my buddies is an MMA fighter and needed a strength program. I’ve been training MMA for 5 years on and off, so I decided to give it a try. I was just wanting some opinions on the program i wrote. Thanks!

Monday:
Warm Up: DeFranco Agile 8
Box Jumps 3x5
Squat 5x3@ 80%
Hang Clean 3x5
Kettle Bell Swing 3x10

Wednesday:
Push Up (Explosive) 2x10
Bench Press 5x3@ 80%
Push Press 3x5
Dumbbell/ Kettle bell Snatch 3x5 (each arm)

Friday:
Pull Up 3x5
Deadlift 3x3@ 80%
Barbell Row 3x5
Dumbbell Shrug 3x10

Core Work 3x a week:
1A: Stir the pot for 10 slow alternating reps (5 in each direction)
Rest 30 seconds
1B: Side plank with leg elevated, hold each side for 30 seconds
Rest 30 seconds
1C: Hanging leg raise for 5 super slow reps
Rest 30 seconds, repeat all three exercises for 3 rounds

i would replace dumbell shrugs with farmers walks. When does your fighter do MMA training?

5 days a week. I tried to keep the volume fairly low, he’s not a very strong dude so i figured that lower volume with some heavier weights would work great for him. I also thought about the farmers walks but he lifts in a small commercial gym so I dont know if he’d have the room.

Well, first I think it’s important to ask…

1. why does your buddy feel that he needs a strength program? Is he an already accomplished/skilled fighter but just getting bullied in his fights and feels that extra strength would narrow the gap and allow his superior technical skills and conditioning to shine through? Or is he just starting out and under the false impression that the reason he is getting routinely whooped is because he’s too weak and not because he is unskilled?