Strength Loss, What's Up With That?

I started lifting seriously last October and made some amazing (for me) gains in strength. Then, I got pretty sick in March, and had to stop lifting.

My first day back was Tuesday. I knew I had lost strength, but I was like wtf? I was doing a 5x5 of squats at 215 when I left. I did 5X5 @ 140 yesterday and I got it, but it was a lot heavier than I expected and my legs are killing me today, especially my hamstrings.

My bench and row got a lot weaker too, but nothing compared to what I lost in the squat.

Tomorrow’s deadlift day. I’m kinda curious to how that’s gonna go.

March was five months ago; you have to expect some losses. That said, your strength will probably come back much faster than you think – muscle memory is an amazing thing. Just be careful not to overdo it at first.

Not knowing what kind of sick you were (although having to take five months off makes me think it must have been pretty bad), it’s hard to give specific advice, so I’ll say that generally it’s better to let yourself come back slowly than to come back too fast and risk another forced absence from the gym.

The usual rate of loss is about 7 to 10 percent per week that you aren’t training, until you reach your previously untrained state.

Looks like thats what happened.

Stick to it. It comes back.

Cool, that’s what I thought. What do you think is the best way to work my way back? Try to plan for 5 pounds a week, 10. I know I’ll cvome back quicker than I get there in the first place, but not too sure exactly how quickly. I’m thinking about 2 months. Am I off?

Hey man, don’t worry about how long it will take to get back to where you were. Think about it, you started last October and stopped in March, that’s 5 months. You’re just starting up again now, 5 months later. Plus, in the time that you weren’t training you were apparently very ill. That will take a huge toll on one’s body, even more so than just not training.