T Nation

Strength Gear/Training Advice

I need some advice into getting proper gear for strength training so I don’t injure myself. I have around 2 years of lifting experience, however was off 2 years and have only recently been lifting again for 2 months. I’m in the process of researching strength programs to follow, and need any advice on proper gear to use to help prevent any injury or help in the training process.

Looking at a few things, belts seem to be popular at my gym. Also erector shirts seem like a handy tool to keep back straight in deadlifts and squats. I saw some powerlifitng videos of powerlifters taking ammonia capsules also, is there any harm to taking these? They seem like a good tool to help push out sets when you become fatigued. Any info you could direct me to for strength gear and training would be helpful thanks.

I would personally stay away from most of that stuff, unless that day you are aiming for a PR. I use gloves on deadlifts as chalk is frowned upon, that’s all. Looking around my own gym, belts are worn to set of your teeny waist. People are doing machine pulldowns belted, fer chrissake!

I would however supplement with creatine, a good protein, fish oil and minerals.

Ammonia? If it’s you last lift in PL meet…

TQB

Disclaimer: I am really not that experienced. Many here knows much more…

[quote]shizen wrote:
I need some advice into getting proper gear for strength training so I don’t injure myself. I have around 2 years of lifting experience, however was off 2 years and have only recently been lifting again for 2 months. I’m in the process of researching strength programs to follow, and need any advice on proper gear to use to help prevent any injury or help in the training process.