Strength for Weightlifting

Hey guys,

I’ve been a lurker for a looong time in the forum, but i’ve decided to start posting because I need some advice. I’m an intermediate weightlifter (Snatch 110 C&J 140 @85), i’ve been training with weights for about 5 years but focusing on oly lifting the last two. The thing is that i’ve earned a scholarship for six months and here I am, in France, with no oly equipment near by. I have access to a decent gym with a power rack and all the good old strength stuff, except bumper plates…so my question is , what would you do to get better at Olympic Lifting without the possibility of doing the complete lifts?? I’ve been doing tons of squats, but again,what would you include in a program to gain strength for a later comeback to oly lifting?

ANY advice, program, etc is welcome!!

P.S: I can train 5/6 days a week

Thanks a lot!

Its seems your doing good by yourself, don’t know why you need our help.

What I would do, if I was in your situation, and this is just me. Squat everyday and deadlift 1-2 week/every week or so. and some bodybuilding stuff. The power versions and jerk if I could.

and light bar stuff to maintain tecnique.

You are a more advanced lifter than me and most of the people on this forum so you probably know better than most! But I would say do an immense amount of squats, keep doing the bar work and keep yourself mobile. Do a lot of pulls of varying weight. If you can do the lifts with light weights that would be good too

Other than that do whatever you like. I think it’s very optimistic to actually get better at the olympic lifts. That’s probably unlikely, however you will be able to get stronger so when you get back to lifting you will have the potential to lift more so you can make fast progress on your return!

I’d hammer the squats
keep doing the bar work
lift to about 60-70% full lifts, so you keep your mobility and sharpness even though it’s light,
PS - hard to push with no bumpers