Strength for an Endurance Athlete

I’m an amateur racing cyclist and occasional rock climber. I usually strength train for a few months during the off season but this year want to keep it up throughout the year.

I can fit in two strength sessions each week.

Aims are to maintain muscle mass as I age (currently 38) and to improve neuromuscular co-ordination which improves efficiency and sprinting on the bike) (also a desire to achieve a 2xBW deadlift and a BW press)

I’d like feedback on the following program. I constructed it myself based on what I enjoy and trying to ensure all the basic movements are covered.

Session 1

3 sets of
A1 Press (2-5 reps, increase weight when hitting 5 reps for each set)
A2 Chins/Pull Ups
A3 Front Squat (AMRAP same weight as Press)

5 sets of
B1 Single Leg DB Deadlift (10 reps)
B2 Push Ups (10+)
B3 DB or Bodyweight Rows (10 reps)

Session 2

A Deadlift (ramping sets of 3 reps)

3 sets of
B1 DB Press (6-10 reps, increase weight when hitting 10 reps)
B2 Chin Ups/Pull Ups
B3 Pistol Squats

C Back Raise / Reverse Hyper (3x10)

Thanks for any feedback.

What discipline are you racing? Road? Criteriums? Mountain biking?

Regardless, I’d follow a tried and proven program rather than writing your own, Westside for Skinny Bastards has a useful 3 day template if you are competent with a barbell. Jim Wendler’s 5/3/1 offers lots of flexibility and is something I wish I had discovered in my racing days… You’re on the right lines for including single leg work, but I’d switch pistol squat for a lunge, Bulgarian split squat or even a step up.

Typically, there is an old school mentality of spending a winter in the gym just to lose it all over the warmer months when the intensity of the racing season picks up. A 5/3/1 approach could at least offer some form of maintenance or even a long steady patient progress.