T Nation

Strength Dropping During Workout

I've been going to the gym for 5 weeks now and I was just curious about my strength duration during lifting - It seems like I'm losing strength quicker than everyone else. I would assume it would get better with more training, but it hasn't for me yet.

example:

My first set (after warmup) on the bench tonight was 135 x10. After that set was finished + 1 min rest, I could only put up barely 6 reps. It happens to me all the time and seems to keep decreasing with every new set.

The only reason I ask this is because I'm able to spectate a lot of people training (Even beginner lifters like myself) and they don't seem to be having problems doing like 4 sets x10 of something I would only be able to do 1 set x10, then 1 set x6, then 2 sets x4-5 on.

Sorry if this is a retarded question btw, it just seems like, from what I can spectate, that I happen to be suffering with this more than normal.

I'm no expert, but isn't 60s a bit short unless you're doing supersets or something?

As for loss of strength, are you eating enough? What's your pre-workout nutrition like?

The answers you're most likely to hear the most on the beginner board are going to be "eat more," and the questions you'll be asked will probably be "what are your stats and what are you goals."

I don't understand. 60s?

Today my pre workout nutrition was as follows:
wake: protein shake + banana
1hr30 min later: 3 scoops rolled oats + blueberries, 2 pieces protein bread, 2 egg whites
3 hours later: 1 sweet potatoe, small chicken breast, 2 cups steamed veggies, 1 slice protein bread, 1 banana
2hr30 min later: protein shake w/ 5g creatine
30 min later: gym

I'm currently 22, 6'1, 187lbs and all protein shakes are taken with water.

Yeah, I'm a pretty good eater in general, and all of the meals that I eat generally fill my stomach up well but I'm still not sure. I guess if I had to take a wild guess, maybe I'm not getting enough carbs pre workout?