Strength and Conditioning Coaching

Hi im a 17 year old in my last year of college (in the uk) study sports and exercise science. I jjhave looked at a few universities and have looked at the strength and conditioning science. I was wondering if there was an apprenticeship to qualify me in strength and conditioning coaching/science or where is best to look for them?

I’m not in tbe UK so I won’t be much help but I’ll try.

Are you looking for a job or trying to get into an educational program?

I’m in the US and I graduated from college when I was 22 with a degree. I’m not sure if you’re way ahead or if the terminology is different.

If you’re actually done with school and looking for a job then check the websites of the governing bodies. Here, the NSCA (National Strength & Conditioning Association) is probably the top provider for strength and conditioning certifications. To coach at the college (University) level you need a degree and the CSCS certification provided by the NSCA. And most places require a masters degree.

The NSCA website has a section for job hunting. You can set up a search for certain types of jobs in your area and you’ll get alerts.

I’m sure there are other companies that provide credentials over there so check their websites as well.

1 Like

do you want to be a personal trainer? You can certified for that in like a week.

1 Like

Find a good gym with good coaches and see if you can intern, as in work for free and be around watching the experienced trainers work. It’s the Ben Bruno route - went from interning 6 days a week for free to training pro athletes and supermodels within a couple of years.