Strenght vs Volume

Hello all. I’ve been training for a few years (3-4) and in this time my exp has come in the form of many doubts for the most. I trained mostly for strenght than volume, low set-rep range with high loads, periodization, etc as in some Pavel Tsatouline’s books. For the most it’s been deadlifts, military presses, bench presses, pull-ups and ab work.

All of this worked to get me stronger without much added volume (I must clear thought that I’m a lightweight, 132 lbs, so my numbers are far for impressive) but over this period of time some things caught me off guard. Over the past few years I found myself Arm wrestling more often than not and I was surprised to see myself struggling with people who do little to no training at all. Yes, heavier oponent yet my numbers on any lift were and keep to be higher.

After this experiences I started to question myself about my training and the pursue of “strenght and not size” as it would seem the bigger person would always have the advantage no matter all the training I put into it. Many could say such an event requires more skill than it is comnonly believed but this is just an example that translates to overall strenght for daily use where my higher numbers on lifting seem to be useless. Is it the weight disadvantage? The specific strenght and skill required for a given task? Or just a bad training approach?

Arm wrestling is a sport in itself, you need to practise to get good at it; however, bodyweight does help (upper body overal mass, more specifically).

Also, how strong are you? As a lightweight, you should be able to bench x2 bw and squat x2.5 or more to qualify as decently strong.

Have you considered getting heavier?