T Nation

Streetfighting How To?

Hey guys!

I have a question, although an embarassing one. I have been in some fights in my life.
Most of them were stupid bar fights. Just like last saturday. We were at a party and
I accidentally bumped into a dude. He immediatly pushed me away, HARD. I pushed him back.

Then he stands there taunting me, like "c'mon, I'm right here". Then I am going over it in
my mind:

"I am probably stronger than him. But wait, he might do MMA or some shit, and I have no fighting experience. Shall I go for it? Shit, if I cant knock him out, it will be a mess. What if he knocks me out? Etc".

Basically, I have no fighting experience, nor would I know where to start. Swing for his jaw? His throat? Side of his neck?

How would you (experienced) guys handle one to one combat.

P.S I am not asking to pick fights with people, but to just have (train?) for reassurance that I can hold my own agains most people.

Thanks in advance

Streetfights are awful affairs, and you shouldn't let your ego (that's what was talking to you in your head) bait you into them. You'll either end up beaten down, in court, or both. Or dead.

If you're truly nervous, go to a boxing gym- they'll teach you to fight. But you still should walk away from nearly every altercation.

stick and move..I Kid but why do you have do rise to their bait?You can play off those situations with some self depreciating humour most of the time withut having to resort to hitting the guy. If you really want to get better at fighting guys in bars then you should just take up some type of full contact fighting style.

nevermind, Irish said it better than I could.

Kick in the balls, pint glass to the face, and when in doubt bite him in the check as hard as you can.