Strange Stuff from the Endo, Comments

I have posted this on another forum, and had some interesting comments. All in all you people seem to have a better handle on this type of thing. So I would like to see what you have to say.

K here it goes. I have been showing signs and symptoms of low T for several years (53 yo). My gut keeps getting bigger even when consuming 2000 calories per day and working out hard 4X per week, low libido, not ED just takes more to get me interested, always tired due to poor sleep patterns, and so on. The family doc ran the standard blood tests and pretty much said, “Yep everything is good”. Well after a time of complaining he sends me to a endo for a consultation. More blood work for the endo. Three times over three months before he would even see me. I never seen the orders, so I have no idea what he was looking at. His office just told where and when to show up and I did.

The upshot is the endo looks at me and says “You have depression”. No I am not. I’m one of the happiest guys I know. Good job, solid marriage to a dedicated good looking gal, no drama on any front. I do not get panic attacks, fear or any of the other stuff associated with depression. He says “No, you have sub-sydromal, non-clinical depression.” WTF??

He then goes on to explain that my serotonin levels are messed up. (I thought the only way to accurately check that was in urine, but what do I know). And I am not using the insulin my body is making properly which explains the weight gain. DUH! (had to do that)

Since this is only to be a consultation he will be forwarding information and prescription ideas to my normal doc. He told me to eat in the lower side of the glycemic index, take fish oils and ALA. Which is supposed to help with the insulin resistence issue. (Uhmm…I take Flameout religiously already)