Story of a Friend During the Cultural Revolution

There was a request that I share the story told to me by a friend who was in China during the Cultural Revolution. Since this is probably one of the few you will run into, I thought I’d share it. Anyone else have or know of such stories?

I met my friend, F. while I was a student. She was studying on full scholarship from the Chinese government at a US university. This was during the mid 1980’s when the Chinese were just starting to study abroad. Our university was one of the first to have an exchange program. Her story starts with her father in France during the 1930’s. He trained as a cardiologist and became extremely well known. During WW II he moved back to China to help the Chinese against the Japanese. He met F.'s mother and they married. F.'s mother was blind. This will be important later.

Fast forward to the 1960’s. Mao has won the revolution and because the father had training abroad, the family is under suspicion – not just him, but the whole family. When the Cultural Revolution began in 1966, her father was imprisoned in the hospital. Since he was one of the best cardiologists in China, they could not just shoot him. So he became effectively a slave in the hospital treating high ranking party officials. She hinted that he was one of Mao’s physicians. At home, F. and her sister were the object of harassment from the Red Guard. Her mother, being blind, required help which was seen as bourgeois, so under almost daily threat, the mother told her assistants not to come back. F. and her sister were probably 12 or so at the time.