T Nation

Stop Bulking Due to Injury

I've recently had a lower back injury and I have seen the doc today. He says I'm not to lift at all for at least one week and take anti-inflamatories.

I have been bulking for nearly 4 months and my diet has been pretty much the same everyday.

Q. If I can't lift for at least one week what approach should I take with diet/exercise?

My belly is getting quite big already. Can I use this downtime to lower my carb intake and perform some daily cardio to lose some fat?

Can I make some good of this situation that I'm in?

My plan is to lower my carbs to about 90-100 per day and do some exercise (cycle/walking) while keeping just benchpress for a week as this will not put any strain on my lower spine. (if it does I'll stop immediately)

There must be a protocol that serious lifters follow in situations like this.

Any suggestions from those with knowledge and experience would be appreciated.

Cheers

Well for exercises, all supported and seated exercises SHOULD be fine as long as there isn’t too much loading on your spine. As for your diet, I would obviously lower your caloric intake, it’s hard to say an exact number tho.

Cardio, maybe not running but that’s up to you. To play it really safe horizontal cycling would be the easiest.

Take it easy!

Am I better off performing exercises that don’t pressure my spine and just keep bulking?

BTW- That avatar of yours rocks! I can never decide which scene I like the most.

I know right!
Well if you can’t lift at all don’t bother eating as much as usual just go for maintenance. When you go back to lifting then use your usual diet. And yeah no exercice that put pressure on your spine, or at least not much. You will have to gauge what you can and cannot do.