T Nation

Stone Molds

Hey guys, just wondering if anyone has ever tried these stone molds from Iron Gladiators?

Also, how much would I expect to pay for conrete?

Link:
http://www.irongladiators.com/index.cfm?page=equipment.cfm&content=stonemolds.cfm

I have never tried the iron gladiator stone molds. Actually I’m planning on making my first stone soon. Anyway I guees if you can afford to buy the mold dont even worry about the concrete, just buy quickcrete very cheap.

So, if the mold is good enough, I don’t have to worry about the concrete? The molds are pretty cheap, so I’m interested, not much knowledge on this whole stone making thing though

[quote]ThirdUncle wrote:
So, if the mold is good enough, I don’t have to worry about the concrete? The molds are pretty cheap, so I’m interested, not much knowledge on this whole stone making thing though[/quote]

I have no experience with making stones because I have yet to make my first one. Conrete is concrete, also I know you are supposed to get a car tire to put the mold into so it doesnt get flat on the bottom. I bought a slaters hardware stone mold and those have a good reputation.

I have a couple of things you may want to keep in mind.

The IronGladiator molds are one time use only. This is not good. The Slaters hardware molds can
be used many times over. A friend of mine has some and I have helped him make 3 batches of stones so far. The molds are still in perfect condition. Concrete is very cheap so you are much better off having molds you can keep using. I know of guys who have made 50 stones in a mold and it is still fine to use.

The first time you make stones you may mess if up, especially if you don’t have much experience with
concrete etc. For example one of our molds was not taped up tight enough and it burst open and set in an unusable shape.