Stimulant Transition - Intensity vs Volume

Hey Christian

I’ve been running your Strength-Skill Circuit for about 4 months now and I just want to say a big thanks, this program has produce great results in strength and size, plus thoroughly enjoyed running it. But my motivation has dropped and I’m looking for a new training stimulus.

Then the other day I came across your Built for Battle program and that has increased my excitement and motivation to begin a new training period.

On the assistance work:
For the Strength-Skill Circuit, the assistance hypertrophy work in limiting cortisol production, you recommended 2 warm sets and then 1 working set to failure/beyond per exercise which work well for me. But for Built for Battle, the assistance hypertrophy work you recommend 3 working sets so a more volume base protocol.

1.)
So, my question is, why do you recommend the volume assistance hypertrophy work rather than 2 warm up and 1 working set to failure in Built for Battle, won’t this elevate cortisol levels? For my learning, can you elaborate why you have chosen the volume protocol (benefits) and I’m presuming, how it won’t affect cortisol levels?

Thanks for all your workings and help, has really taken my training and results to another level :call_me_hand:

Mick P

It’s not as simple as saying that volume = cortisol. If you read my latest article on overtraining, you now that 6 training variables can play a role in increasing cortisol. Yes, volume is one of the two main ones but understand that volume is not simply sets x reps… in reality range of motion and the amount of muscle involved matter too.

For example 100 reps of calves raise will not have the same impact as 100 reps of squats. Volume impacts cortisol mostly via an increase in energy requirements. So, 3-4 work sets on isolation exercises will not really yield a huge cortisol increase.

Thanks Christian for the feedback.