Steel vs Non-Stick Pans?

Now I know this isn’t a gourmet cooking forum, but what sort of cookware do you use and why?

Practically everything I own is non-stick but whenever I watch food network they all use steel pans. Do steel pans really improve taste?

Stainless steel pans do make food taste better. I can’t actually offer you much in the way of scientific facts, but they do. I have a degree in culinary arts and used to be a sous chef, so I can offer real world evidence. Basically, meats and vegetables and starches have sugars in them which caramelize on their surfaces when put in contact with high heat.

For what ever reason, the SS pans have a better “grip” or contact with the food than a non stick. Makes sense since the non stick is well, non stick. And something about the plastic that is non stick just makes a difference taste wise. Also, since SS is non reactive you can use any acidic liquid in the pan while cooking, ie; wine, vinegar or fruits.

You can’t do that in a cooper or aluminum pan or else it will taste really funny and bad. To a small degree acids and non stick don’t mix either. The acidic food or liquid will leach a funny taste out of non stick surface.
So maybe it’s anecdotal evidence, but it’s true :wink:

Well seasoned cast iron. Nothing beats it.

[quote]DoubleDuce wrote:
Well seasoned cast iron. Nothing beats it.[/quote]
It’s good for some things, but not all…
I have my mother in law’s 37 year old one :wink:

[quote]strangemeadow wrote:

[quote]DoubleDuce wrote:
[/quote]

X 3. My ex fiance was a chef and swore by cast iron for about 75% of the cooking

I still love the shit for about 85% of my cooking…

Because Chefs dont have to do the washing up…

How do you guys avoid sauces/fat burning up and being a sticky black mess with using SS pans? Sometimes I get an awesome forearm workout trying to scrub them off.

Hi little buddy,

My favourite pan at the moment is a neoflam pan. Google it.