T Nation

Steel Mace/Clubs & Weight Training Program

Whats up everyone.
I’m a 47 year old fire captain with an abused body from decades of overreaching weight training and almost 20 years of firefighting.

I’m 5’11 and at around 194 lbs
I’m eating 2100 to 2500 calories on my good days and on bad days 3000 or more and it ain’t clean.
Macros at 2100 are 240 protein 150 carbs and 70 fat

About 2.5 years ago I hit the wall and my body just shut down. To fix it I went and found the best coach I could and the 1st thing we did was started from scratch and re-learned my squat & deads. Within weeks of that I started training with kettlebells, Steel mace and clubs.

The Steel mace proved to be a game changer and I was so enthralled by it I went out and got myself 3 different certifications in mace training and my NASM-CPT.

I started a podcast and have been exploring the many uses of mace and rotational movement. I have to admit that i got carried away and my basic lifting took a backseat but that was only temporary.

Now I’m training like this…

Chest/back
Legs
Shoulders/Arms
Mace/clubs/bells
Repeat

But I still use a mace or club in just about every workout. For example on leg day I will warm up with a mace flow where I do lunges to prepare my legs and various swings to help my upper body and core warm up and activate better. In between sets of squats I will do more swings or mills to open my chest and counter act the compressive forces from the barbell on my back.

I will be posting up my workouts here cause I have always loved T Nation and read all the articles and love this forum… plenty of good people who like to help each other out.

If anyone is interested in learning about the steelmace you can look it up. You may find me out there. I’m not gonna post my website or YouTube or any SM here because I’m not trying to promote here and be respectful. You can message me if you wanna know anything.

Today’s workout was LEGS in my home gym

Warm up mace flow with 10lb mace