T Nation

Static(?) strength superior. WHY?

i regularly incorporate static-contraction lifts and partials/lockouts into my routine. ive been designing programs for people for the last 2 years or so (just incorperating what i learn along the way). ive noticed that others who use static/partial type training can often lift more in their strong range of motion than others, even if those “other” people have a higer max in the full range of motion.

example:.my buddy jared can out bench me by 250 lbs and shoulder press probably a hundred more pounds than me. his leg work usually consists of smith machine followed by heavy pressess on a hip sled. on these machines he can lift more than me (although he can only outsquat me by about a 100lbs and my deadlift is higher than his.)
i rarely use machines, instead i do squats, box squats and deads. i also use alot of core-strengthening exercises such as snatches, overhead squats, heavy side bends, 1arm presses etc.